A Goal Reached

Weight Debate – 5.11.2010

It is 4 months to the day after the birth of my son and I am proud to report that I have officially returned to my pre-pregnancy weight. Like a lot of women during pregnancy, I indulged my cravings.  Why not? We’re gaining any way. Pregnancy is the perfect excuse to eat what we want when we want it. If you’re really lucky, you might’ve even been able to make the hubby get it for you! It wasn’t until the third trimester that the thought of gaining too much even crossed my mind. When I got to 6 months, everyone started to notice the bump! My mother was even convinced that I was due sooner because I was so big in the belly. With all the weight gain came excruciating back pain and twice weekly trips to physical therapy. I gained 50 pounds rather than the recommended 25-30 pounds. I am still embarrassed to look at the couple of photos taken during the pregnancy.

I spent the entire pregnancy worrying about what kind of mother I would be and causing serious stress on my body to the point of losing the baby’s heartbeat once. I had no energy, quit exercising, and didn’t drink enough water. In the last 4 week of the pregnancy I started to do physical therapy in the pool and swim some days. By that point the damage was done, but I did find some relief from it. Brayden was born at 36 weeks and I fully believe that if I had taken better care of myself both mentally and physically, he would be a much healthier and happier little guy.

If I had it to do over, here is what I would change:

  • Eat right
  • Take organic supplements every day
  • Drink more water
  • Remember to Relax
  • Exercise pre-pregnancy and beyond

I would walk spend at least 30 minutes five days out of the week doing something active. I love to swim and swimming was the easiest with the belly. It would be my top method of choice. Whatever yours is, I recommend that you plan a routine even in the early stages before you start to show or gain weight because it will creep up on you quickly.

I get asked often, “How did you lose the weight so quickly?”

First of all, I didn’t lose it that quickly. I initially lost exactly 11 pounds of true “baby weight” in the few weeks after Brayden was delivered. Secondly, I am not a very laidback type of person. I have a compulsive need to “always be doing something,” as my husband puts it. The day we brought Brayden home from the hospital I felt the need to sweep and vacuum the floor – not to relax. I went back to school one week after having him and began walking for exercise and doing usual chores and errands immediately. I lost 47 pounds in 3 months and in the last month I struggled to lose a measly 4 pounds. I attribute several things to the success.

First and foremost – breast feeding. I’ve made it happen for four months and I strongly believe that if he wasn’t using those extra calories and making me very conscious of everything that goes into my mouth and on my body, I would not have been as successful. If you can – breast feed. If you can’t or it’s just not for you, be sure to expend more calories than you are consuming. Don’t forget to eat. Not eating is not only unhealthy, but it will cause you to be even more exhausted than you already are with a new change in your routine. Exercise, exercise, exercise! Of course you should ALWAYS listen to recommendations from your doctor, but if you are clear to exercise – DO IT! If nothing else, just get outside and walk for 15 minutes a day. You need the vitamin D from the sun and if you’re suffering from any postpartum depression it will lift your mood. Baby wear! That extra 6-15 pounds is just as good as carrying dumbbells around and your little one will love the bonding time! I wear Brayden in a ring sling at home and out and about. Switch to organic foods and healthier choices. Drink more water and stay well hydrated.

An Ayurvedic rule of thumb is: “never put anything on your skin that you would not eat.” Taking care of your skin is just as important to weight loss post-pregnancy because if you’re overloading your body with harsh chemicals and toxins, it cannot purify itself. Removing the toxins from your body is essential to weight loss.

I am not claiming that any of these suggestions or strategies will work for you, but I can tell you that they worked for me. Every woman is different and you have to find what works for you. This is just my story. Four months to the day after my son was born, I have lost 50 pounds and am now at my pre-pregnancy weight. Good luck Mamas and Mamas-to-be!

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

Leave a Reply

