Hide-a-Wipe – the Shoebox way

I am all for cute and multipurpose storage. This adorable number really caught my eye until I saw the price tag. Averaging around $14.00, the Hide-a-Wipe Box is not a very economical buy.

For those of us that would like to try something different than the standard plastic wipes tub, this is a neat little project. This is a simple design that can be mimicked easily. Plenty of us have shoe boxes hiding in our closets. Set aside those those worn out pumps and give life to a boring shoe box by turning it into your own container for wipes or for anything, really.

You can use an eco-friendly paint, fabric, or fun paper to cover the box. I am using scrapbook paper in coordinating colors as I have a lot of this on hand. To create the photo frame on top, I am using foam photo frames from the Dollar Tree. They were $1.00 for a pack of 8. I have used them for various projects including the pizza box jewelry cabinets. You can make your own picture frame just as easily by cutting paper to make a frame, cutting cardboard or cereal boxes for a sturdier border, etc.

The liner will need to be of a waterproof plastic. You could use: a plastic grocery bag, a cereal box plastic liner, part of a nylon bag, an old piece of tarp, PUL if you’re lucky enough to have this on hand, etc. Now you’ve got a cute containers for wipes or anything else that would need a waterproof liner.

So for about 13 cents in the cost of a foam photo frame, I have myself a waterproof custom container.

You could also line a shoebox with fabric or other reusable materials for storage.

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

2 Responses to Hide-a-Wipe – the Shoebox way

  1. Pingback: RESSOURCES FOR THOSE WHO HELP

Leave a Reply

