Rethink Wrapping Paper

Most of you probably know that there are several alternatives to wrapping paper such as newspaper, brown paper (great for letting the kids design their own packaging), magazine pages, recyclable cardboard boxes, etc. But have you thought of repurposing wrapping paper?

Jonathan used this wrapping paper from Hallmark to wrap my birthday gifts with and it was love at first sight! If I could find this in wallpaper, I would LOVE to do a wall in my bedroom. I couldn’t see it go to waste so I saved the scraps of gift wrap from the gifts and then what is remaining of the roll for something special.

I started with an empty, CLEAN paint can that a sales associate was throwing away at Home Depot. At the time I wasn’t sure what I’d do with it so I’ve been storing it in the office. The great thing about this wrapping paper is that not only is it pretty, but it’s thick and adhesive-backed -perfect for projects!

I cut my paper to the desired size. I used Krylon Easy-Tack spray glue to spray the back of my wrapping paper scraps for extra adhesion. Krylon products are not the most eco-friendly option, but they are effective. Sorry, I do have a few weak spots.

I applied it carefully while smoothing out all teh wrinkles. The adhesive on the wallpaper allowed me to stick and re-stick the paper if I made a mistake. It was really simple to apply. The end result? A container (without a lid) for anything your heart desires! You could create a more decorative piece with embellishments such as ribbon trim, fringe, etc.

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

Leave a Reply

