Meg Hannan Fabric Jewels

Meg Hannan  Fabric Jewels are one-of-a-kind pieces. There are so many exciting things about Meg’s pieces that I don’t know where to begin. The first question that pops into your head when you look at her pieces is, “What IS that?” You know it’s a pendant or a set of earrings, but are they made of beads or glue or what? I’ll give you a hint – the name says it all!

Fabric Jewels. It’s a special process called millefiori.

Meg’s obviously not going to share her secret with the world, but she does tell us that she uses special secret glue. “For the purposes of your questions of durability, the glue protects mightily against water and a quite a bit from light as well.”

Meg makes her creations using recycled fabrics. 97 % of the fabrics are from used items. Recycled bedspreads, placemats, and woven items are primary ingredients. She also uses t-shirts, towels and any other fabric that looks exciting. It is 99% cotton.

To review a collection of photos of Meg’s work, please click on the following link:   Collection Photos

Her pieces are colorful, fun, and easy to coordinate like the set I’m wearing to the left. (Please note that the hemp cord my pendant is hanging from is NOT what was included with the pendant. I restrung it to fit a clasp that I had already.) It was love at first sight when I saw these lime green earrings on her webpage. I love green despite the obvious coincidence and I love the combination of green and pink even more. This set went perfectly with the pink top I had but with all of the colors combined, I could pair it with almost any outfit to show it off. I was even more excited to find that she included an endbit so that I could see the process for myself. (The piece pictured next to my pendant above.)

When asked about her inspiration, Meg says this:

“I always want to answer this with some dazzling one liner, but the truth is, it has been a long evolution. It mostly comes down to three things:”

Show up every day
Pay close attention and
Follow the prompts

See some of her inspiring pieces below:

Meg is located in Rag Sky Art Studio in Seattle, Washington. Rag Sky is located in Artwood Studio, a former Elementary School, turned creative mini epicentre. If you haven’t read about Artwood, please click on the link to do so. It’s an interesting mesh of several different types of artists that live and work in this space. I can feel the creative energy on the other side of the states! To find out more information about Fiber Millefiori Jewelry or to visit her, feel free to contact Meg at:

Rag Sky Art Studio
Seattle, WA

www.meghannan.com
www.meghannan.etsy.com

If you want to see more, stay tuned! Meg will be honoring Journey to “Green” readers with a giveaway in September. You can register to win the “Jambo! HeartPin” begining in August. Stay tuned!

I received these products free of charge and all opinions expressed are my own.

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

Leave a Reply

