Creative Tuesday

Today was a creative day for me. Perhaps it was the creative energy flowing from my review of Meg Hannan’s studio or maybe it was just sheer determination. Either way, I finally got some projects accomplished that have been on my to-do list for over a week. First, I tackled my side table for the couch. I found this at the local thrift store for $2.00 last week when I found the chairs for the dining room. I also painted this serving tray I found for $1.00.

Before:

After:

Sorry the tray looks like a black square. I sanded, painted, and sealed those. I’m pleased with the overall outcome.

Next, I finally created my tablecloth with the beautiful organic fabric I received from Harmony Art. It’s the Evelyn and Janet  pattern. It’s a heavier weight cotton which is perfect for a tablecloth and for recovering the dining room table chairs you see pictured. I was originally going to use a blue piece of organic cotton for the tablecloth, but I really love this fabric and I think it’s the better choice. I will get around to making the blue one to switch out when this one gets dirty. The chairs will be painted white and then recovered with the fabric as soon as my drill comes in the mail! Picture the before in my post “Dining Upcycle” and see the transformation.

It doesn’t “go” together completely, but it will work when I am completely finished with the design. I’m excited about it. If you’re thinking that the tablecloth is short, you’re right. We have a lab so a long tablecloth would not be suitable at all in this house. Between her and Brayden, I’ll be lucky to even keep it on the table.

Next, I FINALLY tackled valances for the office. I received this fabric from a seamstress in Greenville before we left. She gave a LOT of fabric scraps and a few pieces of large material. I loved this pattern. The fabric was old and spotted, and the pattern reminded of the 1950’s. It’s very vintage looking. I like things that match in an offbeat way so when we decided on a wall  color for the office I finally had a purpose for this piece of material.

I’ve still got several throw pillows to create for loveseat in the office. I’ll be using this fabric by Harmony Art. I’ve also got a pillow from Wabisabi Green  that will be perfect for the mix.

The cost for today’s projects were$3.00 for the table and tray and about $8.50 for paint and protective coating. So $11.50 total… not bad at all! I’m really pleased with the results!

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

Leave a Reply

