Yesterday’s Scraps

Yesterday’s scraps, turned today’s treasures!

I was still feeling creative vibes yesterday so I started hunting through the cabinet full of fabric pieces that I have.

After hunting around online for some free patterns, I found what I was looking for. The t-shirt romper was inspired by this mama who made one for her son. Mine doesn’t exactly follow her instructions, but it works! It’s made from a Small t-shirt that was too tight for me to wear. I had to cut the sleeves and take them in as well as cut the body and resew it. I hand sewed the hem on the sleeves because I couldn’t figure out how to get them straight with the machine. Velcro is added to the bottom to close it, and that’s it!

The bibs were simple it was just a matter of finding the right size and shape that I was looking for. The little bigs aren’t working for us anymore now that Brayden is eating solids. I would really love a snap press after using all this velcro. Everything would hold up longer with snaps, but velcro is easy.

The skirt was way too large and you couldn’t see the tie because it was having to be cinched completely in to be worn. I cut it down on both sides and in at the waist, and resewed it. Now I have the detail of the bow and the adorable pockets weren’t compromised. It’s the perfect fit. This is the first project I did and the first of it’s kind that I’ve ever completed. I’m addicted to the fabulous clothing that Marissa at New Dress a Day creates every day and I haven’t had the courage to really alter any of my clothing to create something new. This was the first larger project I’ve tackled other than just the ocassional hemming or adding embellishments. It was so simple and I love the way it turned out! If you’re not following New Dress a Day yet, you should check out her blog. It’s inspired by Julie and Julia’s. She’s taken 365 days and $365 to create a new outfit each day from a thrift store cast off. She has made some really incredible pieces! Be inspired! I know I am.

The new goodies:

– 3 large bibs for Brayden

– A T-shirt romper

– And a skirt for me

Price? FREE! I had everything I needed!

-Enjoy

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

Leave a Reply

