Mosaic Beauty

I come from a family of artists. My mother and my grandmother are both artists and while I have a creative side, the talent definitely fell short with me. I did, however, acquire the ability to appreciate beautiful art when I see it, and Schimmel Art is exquisite.

Absolutely no technology, programs or dies are used to create her art. It is hand-painted, hand-cut, hand-applied, hand-embellished, and hand-finished. Art is more than just something she does, it is a way of life for Sandhi. She has an amazing resume with a lifetime of experience in several different mediums and types of art. Aside from the remarkable work itself, I greatly admire the fact that she’s taken such a passion and made it her life’s work. She began by painting murals and moved on to design consumer goods.

My vision is to create beautiful yet thought-provoking images of beauty; in vibrant color. – Sandhi Schimmel Gold

At first glance, you see beautiful faces in vibrant colors. You can view famous stars such as Marilyn Monroe, Jackie O., and John Lennon. She also does custom portraits and even beautiful animals and scenes. Sandhi’s art is created from junk mail, greeting cards and advertising ephemera on canvas. It’s hard to believe that these vibrant pictures were once advertisements and p.o. box cast offs.

What makes Schimmel Art  Green? Sandhi says, “I create without waste. I upcycle junk mail, calendars, post cards, photos, old greeting cards, tags, etc… it’s all paper waste I collect. I use only water-based, acid-free, non-toxic materials to create my work. It is completely eco-friendly. I reuse and repurpose canvas, frames, etc. whenever possible.”

You don’t have to be an art enthusiast to appreciate the detailing that goes into each piece of this collection. Her works are featured in several museums throughout the United States as well as in private collections and homes.

If you’re a frugal mom, it’s not likely that you’ll own an original piece of Schimmel Art, but reprints are surprisingly affordable (such as $14.00 for an 8×10 of the fabulous Elvis work) and she makes a beautiful set of greeting cards. I received a set of these mini works of art and was so inspired by the beauty. If you’re keeping up with my posts you may recognize of few of the ladies in the art occupying my bathroom wall.

I’m excited to say that Schimmel Art will be offering a GIVEAWAY of a set of these incredible cards to one of my readers! It will be held in September so keep your eyes open for the giveaway! For now, enjoy some more of her beautiful pieces:

 

I am a fan and collector of all things Elvis Presley. This picture is incredible!

I received this product free of charge and all opinions expressed are my own.

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

2 Responses to Mosaic Beauty

  1. Rhonda says:

    Hi Samantha,
    I love this artist and Elvis too. I’m very interested in searching and aquiring her art especially the Elvis piece.

Leave a Reply

