Recovering Chairs

I’m excited to share the end result of my dining room set makeover. I have been painting, sewing, and recovering my dining room set. With the help of Harmony Art  I have been able to turn my drab table and chairs into something really sophisticated and pretty.

I started with a $2.00 chair from the local thrift store.

I removed the cushions, cleaned the chair and buffed it with a sanding block. I painted the frame of the chair flat white and then sprayed it with a clear, gloss sealant.

If you do a lot of craft projects, you should consider getting a reusable drop cloth. I’ve had this canvas option about a years and a half and it’s been great for small projects as well as painting indoors. It’s saved us a lot of money because I’m not buying plastic drop cloths every time I turn around and it can be tossed in the washer to clean up after laying on the carport. It was about $9 new and well worth the price tag!

To reupholster the cushions I didn’t removed the pleather covering that was on the cushion. The organic cotton is not waterproof so I opted to keep the wipeable fabric beneath it in case of spills. Plus, it saves time. Recovering the seat cushion was simple because all I had to do was stretch and staple the fabric.

To recover the back of the chair though, I traced the pattern of the back of the cushion onto my fabric and cut it out. I covered the front of the cushion and stapled the fabric to the back. Then I stapled my traced piece over the top of the exposed back, staples, and fabric.

I reattached the cushions to the frame, and VOILA ~

The back view:

And the whole picture:

Now I just have to finish the other chair! 🙂

-Happy Crafting

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

4 Responses to Recovering Chairs

  1. margauxhf says:

    The chairs look so much better. They are very pretty. I love your choice of fabric.

  2. margauxhf says:

    Ooooh I just looked at the site. You are so right. They have a really nice variety of great patterns.

  3. Pingback: Rooms « Journey to "Green"

Leave a Reply

