Art for your feet

Inspired by a feature in Stampington‘s Handcrafted  magazine, I turned a plain white pair of shoes into fun art for my feet!

I found this pair of shoes at Walmart for $5. They’re made of 70% recycled materials. Most of which is plastic bottles. Very cool for $5. Sorry… I didn’t have any old shoes I could do this to. It’s more eco-friendly if you deco an existing pair.

I taped off the rubber soles and dripped some coffee onto the canvas to stain them. Stuff old magazine pages or newspaper in the toes of the shoes to keep them smooth and keep drips out of the shoes.

Then I started layering on paints. Water down the paint for a softer look or apply straight for bolder color.

Allow the paint to dry and then apply Modge Podge if you’re adding embellishments.

I added vintage inspired papers and a flower that I had in my scrapbook supplies from End of the Day Crafting. She has really great prices on lots of vintage embellishments for sewers and crafters.

I let them dry over night and continued layering paint and sharpies on top of the previous day’s work.

I added stamps next, and a final layer of modge podge.

I waited for them to dry and then I threaded white laces.

The Final Product:

Art for my feet! I thought about dying the laces with coffee to keep a neutral tone, but for now I like the stark white contrast. The Modge Podge seals them to keep them from being ruined if wet. They are a bit stiff from the paint but will break in quickly.

Using craft supplies that I already had, I created one-of-a-kind shoes for only $5. If you’ve got an old pair in need of some tlc, get creative! You can create a brand new pair of shoes that no one else will have. This would be really cute for children’s shoes! I’m thinking about doing B a pair next…

Happy Crafting!

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

3 Responses to Art for your feet

  1. Susieqtpies says:

    Very cute. Is this acrylic paint? I’m your newest follower thanks to The Product Review Place!

    • Yep 🙂 It’s watered down to work more like watercolors. It’s also paint pens, sharpies, and modge podge. Thanks for following! I’m excited to have just joined The Product Review Place!

  2. Kelly says:

    This is a fun project for kids to decorate their own children’s shoes!

Leave a Reply

