Scrap Hoodie

Here’s a simple project for upcycling a hoodie that was inspired by Alisa Burke.

I had this hoodie that I had purchased at Walmart for $3.00 a few months ago and it had gotten some spots on it. Not pleased with the spots, I searched for some ideas. I found this fantastic idea that Alisa Burke had for altering a hooded sweatshirt, and started sifting through my own gigantic pile of scraps for inspiration. (Do you recognize the organic cotton from Harmony Art?)

I trimmed up my small pieces to fit the pattern that I wanted & pinned them in place:

I sewed the pieces down – carefully. This hoodie is a thin, very stretchy material so in some cases I double stitched patches and was careful not to allow it to bunch too much.

The end result:

Upcycle!

This project was so simple! This most time consuming part was picking out the scraps and pinning them in their desired places. (Only because I change my mind often.) You could easily complete this project in under an hour! Think outside the box … old t-shirts or even some of those outgrown baby clothes would be great. Take pieces of those tiny onesies and create a custom jacket for your toddler!

-Happy Sewing!

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

2 Responses to Scrap Hoodie

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Scrap Hoodie « Journey to "Green" -- Topsy.com

  2. The upcycled hoodie looks great and what a fun way to be “green”. I like to use old Sari’s and recycle the material and make lots of cool new things. For example, you can make new cushion covers or cover an old pin board. Open up your minds and think outside of the box!

Leave a Reply

