Fabric Scraps Thursday

I have an ever growing abundance of scraps from various DIY projects. I can’t seem to part with anything. Need some ideas for what to do with those scraps? Here are my Thursday projects:

A throw pillow cover, a t-shirt pocket, & a reusable swiffer dry cloth

I fell in love with a funky pocket tee, but I don’t see it necessary to pay $26 for a basic tee when I just got some great finds from Freecycle. I took one of the plain striped tees and an extra piece of flannel. I created a pocket from scraps and sewed it on. Now I have a new pocketed tee for the grand price of FREE.

A reusable swiffer cloth is simple. For this, I used a leftover piece of flannel. It doesn’t have to be anything fancy. You can see that I left some obvious rough edges. Measure your Swiffer/dry duster for dimensions and cut your flannel (if needed) and leave approximately 2 extra inches to the sides for your “pockets.” Fold and sew your pockets. Slip the piece over the Swiffer and start cleaning.

A DIY camera/accessory pocket:

I have small strips of this great fabric and wanted something cute to put my camera in. I measured my camera and a sewed a pocket to slip the camera in.

I sewed a loop with a small piece of felt to add a caribener clip.

You can use a zipper closure, velcro, or snaps if you have a snap press. I have snap pliers and added a snap for easy access.

I love clips! I use one for my keys and this handy pouch can be used in several different ways. Clip one on to keep up with a pacifier, cellphone, or eyeglasses.

*Note: For extra protection, sew some plastic on the inside of the pouch for waterproof protection if you’re using the bag for a camera. For timesaving purposes, I didn’t do that this time.

Happy Sewing!

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

Leave a Reply

