DYE hard: Two of a Kind

I love dye.

One of the easiest ways to transform fabric or clothing is to dye it a different color. Now you might think that tie dye is reserved for the 70’s, but I assure it, it can be just as cool now! Personally, I love it. Aside from several basic-colored tees, it’s becoming hard to sift through my closet and find an article of clothing that I haven’t altered, upcycled, dyed, sewn, appliqued or somehow redone to make my own style.

I took a basic white hoodie that I picked up from a thrift store and tie dyed it for B several months ago. He’s just now been able to wear it, but is quickly outgrowing it. I love how the cerulean blue and turquoise looks together! I hate that he will outgrow it so quickly.

When I found a white hoodie in a bag of awesome freecycle goodies a few weeks ago, I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it. Since I’m not likely to outgrow a hoodie like B, I made my own!

I didn’t achieve the same blue and turquoise effect, but I like all the same. I didn’t need to purchase any fancy tie dye kit to make this happen. I used your basic RIT dye, poured a little into squirt bottles (recycled condiment bottles are great for this) and bagged the remaining dye for future projects. 
{Like this one shown below:}

I finally got my hands on some natural, unbleached canvas and I’m working on several mixed media projects. This one starts with left over cerulean dye splattered on a portion of canvas. Stay tuned to see what becomes of this!

I’ve found a lot of inspiration lately in artwork from artists such as Alisa Burke, Harmony, the artist of Feed Your Soul Art, and other mixed media artists. I admire them and other artists like my mother who have been able to turn talent and passion into a way of life. I hope to some day be able to do the same. Looking back, I wish that I had been brave enough to pursue the arts more… Perhaps attend the UNC School of the Arts or major in textiles. Hey, I’m still young… it could happen! For now, I’m grateful for the time and ability to pursue most creative ventures that I dare to take on. I keep a notebook of ideas and things to try. I have learned to attach plastic snaps this week and even gotten a screenprinting kit though I haven’t learned to use the kit yet.

Lastly, I want to take a minute to say thank you to those of you who are reading this! Thank you for following Journey to “Green” with all of its giveaways, product reviews, projects and tutorials!

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

Leave a Reply

