Recycled Pin Cushion

First, let me say that this was unfortunately not my idea. I often see projects that I think are really fun and recreate them with my own spin. Today’s project was inspired by Living with Punks. With all the sewing and crafting that I do, I didn’t own a single pin cushion until now. The old tomato cushion was just not for me. I wanted something inventive, and when I saw this, it just fit. I have a large supply of recyclables in my sewing closet. I try to recycle everything that I can … so much so that waste industries gets an extra $12.00 from me every three months so that I can save them money by recycling twice the average amount. (Seem unfair? I think so!) But that’s enough of my rant.

I had a few almond cans, so I used an almond can like in the tutorial. You could easily use a baby food jar, peanut can or any shallow can/jar. Use your imagination!

Supplies:

Jar/Can
A fiberfill
Fabric
Paint, Modge Podge, Craft glue, patterned paper or any other craft items to decorate

1. I painted the container with several different colors by layering and dabbing on paint.

2. I cut a bird from decorative scrapbook paper and used hot glue to attach it to the container.

3. I filled the can with a fiberfill.

4. I used a scrap of coordinating fabric for the top. You basically cover the fibers with the fabric and stuff them into the container.

That’s it! Insert your pins and enjoy sewing!

 

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

Leave a Reply

