Schimmel Art Review & Giveaway

It’s finally time for the Schimmel Art giveaway!

If you loved the last review and works displayed, you’ll love this! Keep reading for more details!

Absolutely no technology, programs or dies are used to create her art. It is hand-painted, hand-cut, hand-applied, hand-embellished, and hand-finished. Art is more than just something she does, it is a way of life for Sandhi. She has an amazing resume with a lifetime of experience in several different mediums and types of art. Aside from the remarkable work itself, I greatly admire the fact that she’s taken such a passion and made it her life’s work. She began by painting murals and moved on to design consumer goods.

My vision is to create beautiful yet thought-provoking images of beauty; in vibrant color. – Sandhi Schimmel Gold

At first glance, you see beautiful faces in vibrant colors. You can view famous stars such as Marilyn Monroe, Jackie O., and John Lennon. She also does custom portraits and even beautiful animals and scenes. Sandhi’s art is created from junk mail, greeting cards and advertising ephemera on canvas. It’s hard to believe that these vibrant pictures were once advertisements and p.o. box cast offs.

What makes Schimmel Art  Green? Sandhi says, “I create without waste. I upcycle junk mail, calendars, post cards, photos, old greeting cards, tags, etc… it’s all paper waste I collect. I use only water-based, acid-free, non-toxic materials to create my work. It is completely eco-friendly. I reuse and repurpose canvas, frames, etc. whenever possible.”

You don’t have to be an art enthusiast to appreciate the detailing that goes into each piece of this collection. Her works are featured in several museums throughout the United States as well as in private collections and homes.

It’s time to WIN your own set of Schimmel notecards! These would make a wonderful Christmas gift or treat for the writer in you!

Mandatory Entries: Visit Schimmel Art  and tell me which work is your favorite.

Each entry must be a separate comment! (Only one entry will be counted if you do not leave each completed entry in a separate comment.)

*Subscribe to Journey to “Green” via Email (Subscription must be confirmed) -1 entry

* Suggest friends for Journey to “Green” on Facebook. Friends must actually “like” the page, and you must list their names in a comment. For each person, you’ll get an extra entry!

*Follow Journey2Green on Twitter (Leave Twitter name) – 1 entry

*Vote for me on Top Mommy Blogs -1 entry

*Network with Journey to “Green” on Facebook! If you are a blogger, this is a great way to build a larger fan bag. You’ll find the widget on the right hand corner. – 2 entries

*Vote for me on I’m a Top Mommy Blogger- 1 entry

*Tweet about this post – 1 entry

*Blog about this post – 2 entries

RULES: Open to U.S. Residents. Giveaway Ends September 17th, 2010 at 11:59 pm EST.

The winner will be selected using Random.org. You will have 24 hours to respond. If no response prize will be forfeited and a new winner selected.

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

12 Responses to Schimmel Art Review & Giveaway

  1. dorothy l says:

    Hard to choose but I think my favorite is What’s in a face?

  2. I follow JourneytoGreen on Twitter @bzzingmom

    rebeccamorgan@bzzingmom.com

  3. I think that my favorite is Babushka, Baby!

  4. I am subscribed to Journey to “Green” via email

  5. Voted for you on Top Mommy Blogger

  6. I networked with you on Facebook. (I think I did it right lol)

  7. “Love is Touching Souls” is my favorite

  8. I am an email subscriber

  9. I follow on twitter @lexigurl_17

  10. I voted for you on Top Mommy Blogs

Leave a Reply

