Cleanse

A couple of months after Brayden was born I started really tracking my weight in order to get back down to my pre-pregnancy size. I gained entirely too much weight during the pregnancy (about 55 lbs – eek!) and in the first couple months post-pregnancy, I was able to lose 28 lbs. in addition to the immediate 12 lb. loss. I was feeling great and continued to maintain that while B was breastfeeding. When he stopped, I started eating A LOT. I went from 139 to 150 in just a couple of months. How depressing!

In August we were very fortunate to have a sort of “home gym” put into our 4th bedroom. It consists of an elliptical, a Bosu, yoga equipment, excercise weights and bands. I moved my tv in there for workout videos and started moving. 7 days a week I spend 30 minutes to an hour working out. The workouts vary, but a lot of them are with the Bosu. In one month I only lost 6 lbs. I was making breakfast smoothies, cutting calories, working out, taking a multivitamin, etc. Although I lost 6 lbs, I still felt yuck.

I came across Master Cleanse as a natural alternative to diet pills and an overall way to detoxify the body. More than wanting to lose weight, I want to feel better, have more energy, and be able to wake up feeling good. I’ve done a three-day cleanse using the Master Cleanse guidelines and I’ve lost 3 lbs.!

The plan is really for 10 days, but one thing I can say for sure about myself is that when I’m hungry I am very irritable. Three days at a time is long enough for me! I wanted to share a little about the cleanse in case some of you were interested in trying it. I can say that physically I do feel better. I was a little more tired yesterday than normal, but today I feel great. Over time you find that you aren’t as hungry and you don’t want to eat. I was even able to make it through Mexican!

To do the Master Cleanse (a.k.a. The Lemonade Diet), you’ll need the following ingredients:

  • Lemons (preferably Organic)
    Cayenne pepper
    Grade B Rich Maple Syrup
    An all natural Laxative

The laxative is important. It’s unpleasant but because you aren’t getting fiber, it’s completely necessary to cleanse.

The recipe:

Mix each of the following lemonade diet ingredients into a large glass:

  • 2 Tablespoons Fresh Lemon Juice
  • 2 Tablespoons Rich Maple Syrup
  • 1/10 Teaspoon Cayenne Pepper Powder – or as much as you can stand
    8 ounces (250 milliliters of Pure Water)
  • You drink the above mixture 6-12 times per day and you are only allowed decaffeinated tea for “snacks.” Take a laxative each night.

    It’s pretty simple! I love teas and I have kept water or decaffeinated fruit teas with me at all times. Ice really helps make the Lemonade mixture taste pretty good. You can read more about the cleanse on the links throughout the post. This is definitely something I will keep doing. The Lemonade is something you could replace a meal with at any time to help clean your system. You should always ask your doctor before attempting something such as this however.

    About palaciosamantha
    I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

    One Response to Cleanse

    1. Cara says:

      Good for you!! What an awesome gift to have such a great home gym.
      I love detoxing your body, because there are so many toxins in our lives, and having an overloaded system of toxins can stop weight loss! I recommend Shaklee’s Herb-Lax and Liver DTX. You can find them here: http://www.caranitz.myshaklee.com! Good luck with your weight loss! You can do it!

    Leave a Reply

