From Home: an update and giveaway

This post will kind of be a mixture of every thing – life as I know it.

Keep reading for coupons and freebies.

It’s Fair Trade Month! Let’s honor companies such as Earth Divas that are Fair Trade certified!

This last week has been ridiculous! I finally completed my last midterm this evening (in an online course) and feel such a sense of relief. Of course, I do have a several papers to start writing that are due within the next two weeks. Going back to school full-time is a hard task to do with a little one. For a glimpse into my world, this is pretty much what I have looked like all week:

The basket is sitting there to remind me of all the things that need to be put away that I just haven’t had time to do. I’ve got laundry in baskets from Sunday (my laundry day) that haven’t made it to drawers yet. I am so behind! I find Jonathan’s XXL hoodies to be the most comfortable thing to focus in being that most of my studying occurs late at night once B has gone to bed.

The makings of a painting that has been taunting me for three weeks now:


It started out as lots of lines, geometric shapes, and abstract designs. It’s been painted over several times in different shades of blue and finally ended with a phrase to remind me to quit trying so darn hard. Who knows where it will go from here!

I got my first transfer paper from Dharma Trading Co. and I already like it better than the plastic transfer I was using. I immediately washed it and none of the ink came off or bled. It is harder to apply which I didn’t like at first, but the end result is the best.

Beauty and the Beast has been rereleased on Disney Blue Ray and DVD. I watched it 4 times (well, technically it just played four times because I was busy doing other things) the first day! If you haven’t gotten your copy yet, you can print a $10.00 off coupon at Disney Movie Rewards. This is a great program. For the last year and a half I’ve been entering codes when we get a Disney movie and I’ve scored enough points to pick several of the things on my wish list (DVD’s, a Beauty and the Beast messenger bag, photo packages, etc.). I just have to pick a prize!

I’m about to score another$5.00 Amazon gift card with my Swagbucks!

I got a new journal today. This one comes from Subu, Inc, an Etsy company that I just discovered. It’s made from recycled paper and it’s simplicity is incredible. I journal almost daily and fill them fast. This one spoke to me. If you’re looking for a little eco-inspiration, you’ll love this $6.00 bargain. Click on this link to check out all the great options.

a little excerpt from the shop:

about the books: i try to use recycled materials when i can. not because it’s trendy or the hip thing to do, but because i feel that it is the right thing to do. i strive to find recycled materials, whether it is the cardstock used to cover the books to the paper inside or buttons that have been saved from the perils of misuse.

B had some pictures made today in his Halloween costume. He’s going to be a “Bee”! I’ll post pictures when the proofs come in. 🙂

The website is growing in leaps and bounds. We’re exploring new advertising venues and partnering with new companies all the time!

Palace Scents has gone back to Etsy. I’ll be adding some of my handmade sewing creations over time. It’s less time-consuming to let Etsy manage it than managing my own site. Of course, orders can still be placed on the Palace Scents website.

Lots of items came in today – more reviews and giveaways are coming!


This awesome little bag came today from Go Green Items. You’ll see a review of two great products from them soon. Just for fun, I feel like doing a giveaway! I have one code left from Inspired Gifts for a free photo poster.

Here’s are the terms:

This FIRST person to comment correctly on what this handbag is made of, will WIN! Just leave your comment on this post, and I’ll announce the winner in the morning!

 And I’ll leave you with some coupons and freebies:

  • Annie’s is giving away a free lunch sack. You just need to enter two UPC codes from products purchased.
  • Walgreens is still giving away a free purse book. Use code FOREVER at checkout to carry those treasured photos with you everwhere. Get 50 prints for $5.00 with the code INSPIRE.
  • Suzie Swapper is an awesome way to swap out your old clothes for new ones. Check it out today!
  • You can get 3 FREE COPIES of Redbook here. There’s no purchase necessary of anything, they’re just free 🙂
  • Restaurant.com is offering another 80% off right now! Use code ENJOY to save.

Have a wonderful evening!

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

6 Responses to From Home: an update and giveaway

  1. Ria says:

    recycled seatbelts
    rmartinclarke at gmail dot com

  2. Jamie says:

    Duct tape

  3. LJD says:

    Juice boxes!

  4. I say it’s made from tires lol!

  5. Jamie says:

    anyone guess correctly?

  6. Liz says:

    Is it aluminum cans?

Leave a Reply

