Inspiration

Front Cover

Inspiration comes in many forms. I prefer to surround myself with handmade things, clippings and articles that inspire me as well as photographs, paintings, and prints.  

I love to create things and my “inspiration” needed a home. I have met so many amazing people in companies that sponsor giveaways, in artists that have decorated our home, and over the years in unusual places.

When I was little, I took shoeboxes and covered them with wrapping paper. I would then decopauge things I liked onto the wrapping paper (I wish I had a picture to show) like singers, celebrities, shoes, animals, clothes, etc. I kept my treasures in them. Today I still collect mementoes, but I have a more realistic view of “celebrities.” 

FYI: The only well-known celebrity I met that you may recognize is Big Black from Rob and Big. He was at a local club in Greenville that Jonathan and I just happened to walk into one night. I approached him for an autograph and picture being a huge fan of the show and not only was he rude, but he tugs me onto the seat impatiently so he can get the picture over with. He didn’t even bother to look at me – let alone speak. It was such a disappointment! Here I’d waited in a really long line for nothing. (The picture didn’t come out because it was so dark and the napkin he autographed got lost in the club.)

Along this journey it’s been my experience with other less well-known celebrities, public figures, and even business CEO’s that they’re often too busy to acknowledge us normal folk. It’s a real treasure to meet a person or talk to someone who you admire and them respond in a positive way. I love to hear their stories and know what inspired them to follow their dreams. It’s powerful and uplifting. When that happens, I save the mementos.

I decided my bulletin board and sewing closet was getting a little crowded, so I took a paper bag journal and decopauged memories into it. Autographs, articles, prints and postcards, etc. of various artists and business women that I admire.

Lisa Adams, CEO LA Closet Design

Two years I wrote to Lisa Adams, the CEO of LA Closet Design and she was so amazing to write me back. I’ve admired her work in closet design since I first laid eyes on it. I’ve always been an organizer myself and closet design was something I wanted to do for a long time. She was so great to be encouraging. Next to her is a print by Harmony that she sent with one of her larger prints that hangs in the Master.

Alisa Burke's signature

I have to give a big THANK YOU to the amazing people at Exaclair, Inc! Because of their generosity and phenomenal products, I have these beautiful Decopatch decopauge papers to create with. These pink, blue, and gold sheets are my favorite. They really made this journal something beautiful and truly inspiring! Decopatch papers can be used for SO many things! How about those formula cans you’re using for storage, an old book, notebooks, or shoesboxes!? I love it!

Some more new  inspiration: a new sketchbook & journal to fill my thoughts with!

Sketchbook & Journal

Happy are those who dream dreams and are ready to pay the price to make them come true. –Leon J. Suenes

Who inspires you?

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

Leave a Reply

