A Batty Halloween

I posted yesterday on some eco-friendly ideas for costumes. I thought I’d share my costume today! I used two t-shirts to create this upcycled “Bat Dress.”

Bacardi Shirt

I cut the sleeves off of this men’s bacardi shirt. I chose it because I wanted an orange and green theme, but I thought I could play up the bats on it!

I took another XL men’s t-shirt in orange and cut the bottom to create a trim.

Orange t-shirt trim

I cut the seams on both sides of the t-shirt to open it up, pinned the orange trim to the bottom of both sides and used a zig zag stitch to sew them to the shirt.

I cut the sleeves off of my orange t-shirt, opened them up and sewed them to the sleeveless dress with an exposed zig zag stitch. I also cut the ends of the sleeves off to leave a raw edge.

The neckline was cut into a boat neck shape and left with a raw edge.

The finished product?

The neckline looks funny in the picture, but it’s a straight boat neck! I’m working on a pin to cover up that bacardi logo … some bat wings or maybe a full scale bat! 🙂

Lots o' Scraps

I’ll have a tutorial later on for what happens to all these left over scraps!

Upcycling clothing is simple. I didn’t use a pattern for this dress. To create my own pattern, I often trace existing pieces for the size. This is also free and doesn’t require you to keep up with a lot of tissue paper patterns. If you do want to use a pattern, it’s easy to transform a pattern into something else. I do have patterns that are cut from what they were originally intended to be into something different.

I’ll have more tutorials coming up on this subject.

I watched Live with Regis and Kelly this morning. They were featuring many of the crafts suggestions from Family Fun magazine which I am subscribed to. I love this easy repurposed decoration:

Adorable Milk Jug Centerpiece

You use a permanent marker to draw a face on a recycled milk jug then stick a flameless tealight inside. You have an adorable centerpiece, decoration for your porch or think of how CUTE these would be lining your walkway! If I can find the jugs, I want to set these out along my walkway!

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

Leave a Reply

