Homemade Deodorant Revamped

After a suggestion (Thanks Monique!) that I try coconut oil in my homemade deodorant recipe, I started mixing it up today.

INGREDIENTS:

2 1/2 tbsp of Spectrum Organic Coconut Oil (The Virgin Coconut oil is what smells like yummy coconuts. This one doesn’t smell.)

2 tbsp cornstarch

1/2 tbsp baking soda

5 drops vitamin E (for moisturizing purposes)

3 drops essential oil (for smell)

I heated my coconut oil in the microwave because the liquid is easier to mix than the solid. I combined the ingredients in a pyrex measurement cup and stirred it well until blended.

Use your finger to apply.

As the coconut oil dries, it becomes thick and solid. I added Aura Cacia essential oil to my deodorant because it is my favorite. Baby food jars/containers are the perfect container to reuse for this as well. I have to admit that I like this recipe MUCH better than my former petro jelly version! It’s cheaper than buying store bought deodorant as I can make about 7 containers with just 1 jar of coconut oil!

This would make a great homemade Christmas gift!

Please respect that this recipe is intended for personal use and not for sale.

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

8 Responses to Homemade Deodorant Revamped

  1. Pingback: Do-It-Yourself: Homemade Deodorant :: Money Saving Mom®

  2. Emily says:

    Love it that you put it in the babyfood containers! I remember those… (o; I have been wanting to try this recipe – I have read about some other bloggers that have tried it and for extra strength they have added some essential oils that have antibacterial properties. I have also seen people skip the coconut oil and just use the powders with a powder puff.
    Heh – I can’t wait to try this – although I am still making my way through all of my free “drugstore game” deodorants. However (single-use) plastic – free and chemical-free are the more important “free”s to me going forward in my life. Looking at the triple bottom line economy-environment-humanity. Benefit is that it is so inexpensive!

  3. Susan says:

    I like the idea of less baking soda, as many people (my husband included) have found the baking soda irritating to the skin. I’ve made a similar recipe before (slightly different ratios – from Passionate Homemaking blog) and it worked really well.

    As I see it, the main reason coconut oil deodorant was that the coconut oil has anti-bacterial properties in its virgin state. Using non-virgin coconut oil and microwaving it (thus heating to a high temp) both would destroy that benefit, so you may want to reconsider using virgin coconut oil (and heating it only very slightly on the stove) if you don’t find this recipe to be effective. Underarm smell comes from bacterial growth, which is why the anti-bacterial property is so important.

  4. Mir says:

    This is great, it’s a recipe I’ve been using for over an year. First time I made it with peppermint essential oil, then I started making it with no essential oils at all. And one time I had to replace cornstarch with potato starch (same result!).
    It’s the only deodorant that will keep me fresh no matter what, all the industrial stuff just doesn’t work!

  5. jennifer nelson says:

    Do you have to use cornstarch for this recipe or is there a substitute? I don’t use cornstarch regularly so if I bought it specifically for making deodorant I’m not sure what else I would use it for? Thanks.

  6. First, thank you for this recipe. I can not stand the thought of all of the chemicals and metals in common deodorants, but none of the pricey “all natural” ones that I have tried from Whole Foods work for me. I will have to try this!

    Re; jennifer’s request for a cornstarch substitute, I use arrowroot powder from Bob’s Red Mill in my cooking since my DD is allergic to corn. I am not sure how it would work in the deodorant recipe, but I thought I would share just in case!

    HTH!

  7. seekingsibling says:

    I actually shoved mine all in an old deodorant container and it worked like a charm! Just had to keep it in the fridge in the summer….

Leave a Reply

