B’s First Christmas

Each year I try to make a plan and a budget for Christmas gifts. I start early because I’m more likely to stick to my budget when I’m not pressed for time searching. This year I have another person to add the list. Not only is it B’s first Christmas, but his first birthday will follow shortly after in January. I set myself a goal of spending as little out-of-pocket as possible, but instead using giftcards, coupons, rewards programs, sign up incentives, etc. as means of getting his gifts instead of out-of-pocket spending!

I’m tracking my progress with the Christmas Planner from Tip Junkie. To see how I’m doing and find out what will be under B’s Christmas Tree, watch below:

  • Using Eversave sign up credits, I purchased a $35 gc to Wild Dill for $7. I blogged about it here. I was able to purchase Three gifts (An organic tee, organic puppet, and wooden rattle) for B using an extra discount code on top of the $35. Total cost: $7.93.

 

  • Remember those Gilt Groupe credits? I hope you took advantage of them! I sure did. I got my husband and  my in-laws to help as well! The pictures are: a book, a floor puzzle, placemats (really more for Mama and not for B), and two character dolls from Where the Wild Things Are. Final cost: $1.95 for all.

                  

  • A hand knitted matching baby hat with mittens in white. I don’t have a picture because they haven’t been received yet. Cost on these: FREE  because I sold some of my old, fake Claire’s jewelry to earn the money. (Tip: have a yard sale to raise Christmas funds, trade other Mamas if you’re a WAHM, consignment stores are a great way to earn some  cash or trade in unused items for new things, thrift stores, etc.)
  • The Little Tikes Little Champs Sports Center is really cute. I consign some of B’s outgrown items and receive a credit at the store. I often have a pretty nice balance built up there so I’ve had my eye on this for a while. It sells for $29.99 on Amazon and the consignment store was asking $12. I had over $30 in credit so my price was: FREE. Keep toys and clothing out of landfills by buying secondhand! Babies don’t know the difference and oftentimes consignment stores set high standards for the items they accept. Freecycle is another great way to get your hands on some gear for gifts!

 

  • Do you use Swagbucks? If you aren’t, you should be! I score gift cards for Amazon.com frequently. If you browse the internet AT ALL, you should be using the Swagbucks search engine! Search and get rewarded. There’s no purchase or gimmick! I showed you some of my ecoswag and experience: here. Any way, I’m stacking up those gift cards to order Christmas presents for B and other family members as well. I just ordered two touch and feel books for B. They’re his favorite!

Bright Baby Touch & Feel Merry Christmas   Bright Baby Touch & Feel Words (Bright Baby Touch and Feel)

Paired with Amazon discounts, these were FREE.

 Total to date: $9.88

I’ll keep you posted with savings and freebies as I find them! I hope to be bringing you more fabulous organic finds in the near future! What will you be stocking under the tree this year?

About palaciosamantha
I'm a Social Media Manager for a large home decor company who enjoys staying current in trends in both the fashion and home industries. I have a passion for writing, art journaling, expressive painting, and photography. My greatest loves are my two children.

Leave a Reply

